Digital Terrestrial TV (DTT)

The existing Analogue TV Transmitters in India serve about 88% of Indian population. Constrained by limited frequency capacity, the analogue terrestrial television platform needed a new & more efficient transmission system to meet the demands of the future and to allow for the launch of new services. India has adopted DVB Standard for its digitalization of terrestrial network. The 2nd generation DVB T2 Standard, launched in June 2008, has about 50% more capacity than its first generation DVB T. The DVB T2 Transmitter has high data capacity (upto 40 Mbps). Digitalization of Doordarshan’s Terrestrial TV Transmitters has been started in 63 cities under XI and XII Plan. DVB- T2 Transmitters are equipped for Fixed, Portable and Mobile equipments. Doordarshan plans to install DTT Transmitters at 630 locations all across the county in future. DTT services have been started w.e.f. 25.02.2016 in 16 cities. These cities are: Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Guwahati, Patna, Ranchi, Cuttack, Lucknow, Jallandhar, Raipur, Indore, Aurangabad, Bhopal, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad. DTT channels can be received on Mobile TV also using DVB-T2 Dongles in OTG enabled smart phones and tablets, Tablets/laptops etc. The channels can also be viewed on Fixed TV Sets using Indoor/Outdoor antenna on integrated digital TV (iDTV) Sets or using DTT Set Top Boxes. The iDTV sets of Sony, LG, Panasonic, Samsung and other make are easily available in the market. The DVB-T2 dongles for mobile reception are also available with online shopping stores like Amazon, Flip kart, e-Bay etc. Currently DD National, DD News, DD Bharati, DD Sports, DD Regional/DD Kisan channels are being relayed from DTT transmitters installed in 16 cities. Only one time investment for DVB-T2 Dongle is required by viewers and no recurring expenditure is required.